Blizzcon Wrap-Up

I’ll keep this short as you are sure to get reviews of much greater quality and detail elsewhere.  This will just be a couple of things that jumped out at me.

1. No more mana for hunters.  YAY!  Focus makes a lot more sense to me.  I can’t wait to see how this pans out.

2. Cross-server instances.  Hmm.  Okay, I see this as a mixed blessing.  On the one hand, it increases the chance that you’ll be able to find a group for whatever you may be doing.  This is handy.  I spent days trying to find people to run Outland heroics for the achievements a few weeks back.  On the other hand, it also greatly increases the pool of “we give pugs a bad name” players.  I wonder if they’ll increase the size of one’s ignore list with this and cross-server (game, maybe?) communication.

3. Worgen.  This is a toughy.  I LOVE the idea of a wolf based character.  Love it.  So much so, it was the reason I tried Vanguard.  Still can’t shake that mistake…  Anyway, they downside for me is this, the Worgen is an Alliance race.  And while I, unlike many guildies, don’t have a seething hatred for the Alliance (Hell, my second 60 was an Alliance hunter in vanilla), I don’t like the idea of leveling him without access to my Horde friends.  The social aspect of the game is important to me.  This is like putting on blinders and earplugs.  Sometimes that’s a good thing, but for the entire life of a character?  Not my bag.  I’d love to see the addition of cross-faction communication for people on your friends list.

4. Deathwing.  Wreaking havoc on good ol’ Azeroth?  Sign me up!  I can’t wait to see what the devs do with some of the old zones.  I have a lot of good memories from old Azeroth, leveling sooooo many characters there.  It will be nice to be able to play there again, for the first time, essentially.

There were many, many, MANY more things mentioned, but these are the ones on my mind this morning.  Hit up WoW.com or something for some some in depth content.  It’s going to be one hell of an expansion.

Leave a comment